Über mich

Der Mensch und die Musik

Donald Runnicles ist Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin, Künstlerischer Leiter des Grand Teton Music Festival im amerikanischen Jackson, Wyoming, und Erster Gastdirigent des Atlanta Symphony Orchestras. Vor kurzem berief ihn das BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, dessen Chefdirigent er von 2009 bis 2016 war, zum Conductor Emeritus. Maestro Runnicles pflegt langjährige enge Beziehungen zu mehreren der bedeutendsten Orchester und Opernhäuser der Welt und wird besonders für seine Interpretationen des romantischen und spätromantischen Repertoires, das im Mittelpunkt seiner künstlerischen Arbeit steht, gefeiert.

Als Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin hat Donald Runnicles seit 2009 die musikalische Gesamtverantwortung für rund fünfundzwanzig Produktionen und mehr als zweihundert Vorstellungen pro Spielzeit. Daneben leitet er in der Spielzeit 2017/18 drei Zyklen des Rings des Nibelungen an der San Francisco Opera; an die Metropolitan Opera kehrt Runnicles für eine Wiederaufnahme von Hänsel und Gretel zurück. Zu seinen aktuellen Gastdirigaten gehören Konzerte beim Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, bei der Staatskapelle Dresden, BBC Scottish Symphony, Philadelphia Orchestra, Dallas Symphony, National Symphony Orchestra und Toronto Symphony sowie eine Rückkehr zum Sydney Symphony Orchestra. Zu den wichtigsten Opernproduktionen dieser Spielzeit zählen die Uraufführung von Aribert Reimanns jüngster Oper L’Invisible sowie eine Neuproduktion der Fledermaus an der Deutschen Oper Berlin.

Zitat Runnicles 1

Für mich hat große Oper immer etwas Spirituelles.
Donald Runnicles

Der Mensch hinter der Musik

In Schottland geboren und aufgewachsen, kehrte Donald Runnicles im September 2009 in seine Heimat zurück und übernahm den Posten des Chefdirigenten des BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestras. Seine Abschiedssaison beendete er 2016 mit einem umjubelten Konzert mit Schoenbergs Gurreliedern. Die Verbindung mit dem BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra gilt dank vieler Radio-übertragungen im weltweit ausgestrahlten Klassikprogramm BBC Radio 3, zahlreicher CD-Veröffentlichungen und ausgedehnter Tourneen in England und Schottland sowie zu den BBC Proms in London als eine der fruchtbarsten Partnerschaften in der britischen Musikgeschichte.

Donald Runnicles‘ Beziehung zum Atlanta Symphony Orchestra begann 1999 und entwickelte sich rasch zu einer tiefen musikalischen Freundschaft. Zeitgleich mit der Berufung des gegenwärtigen Chefdirigenten Robert Spano wurde Runnicles 2001 zum Ersten Gastdirigenten ernannt. Gemeinsam initiierten sie eine musikalische Entwicklung, wie sie das schon zuvor hochangesehene Orchester seit seinen legendären Gründerjahren nicht erfahren hatte. Drei Wochen pro Saison arbeitet Donald Runnicles mit dem Atlanta Symphony Orchestra und hat dort in fast zwei Jahrzehnten ein außergewöhnlich breites Repertoire der symphonischen und der Chorliteratur etabliert.

Seit 2005 ist Donald Runnicles Künstlerischer Leiter des Grand Teton Music Festivals: Musiker aus führenden nordamerikanischen Orchestern kommen in der einzigartigen Naturlandschaft der Grand Tetons zusammen, um Orchesterkonzerte, Kammermusik und Liederabende  in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft des Yellowstone Nationalparks zu genießen.

Neben seinen jährlich wiederkehrenden Verpflichtungen nimmt Donald Runnicles zahlreiche Gastdirigate bei international führenden Orchestern wahr, darunter bei den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem London Symphony Orchestra und dem Philadelphia Orchestra, dessen 40. Jubiläumstournee nach China er im Juni 2013 leitete.

Siebzehn Spielzeiten lang zeichnete Donald Runnicles als Musikdirektor für die Geschicke der San Francisco Opera (1992-2008) verantwortlich. In seine Amtszeit fielen Uraufführungen maßgeblicher Werke wie John Adams‘ Dr. Atomic und Conrad Sousas Les Liaisons dangereuses sowie die US-Erstaufführung von Olivier Messiaens Saint François d’Assise und Aribert Reimanns Lear. Zum Abschluss dieser Ära wurde Donald Runnicles mit der San Francisco Opera Medal die höchste Auszeichnung des Hauses verliehen.

Zitat Runnicles 2

Ich dirigiere nur Stücke, von denen ich glaube, dass ich mit ihnen etwas zu sagen habe.
Donald Runnicles

Die frühen Jahre

Donald Runnicles wurde in Edinburgh geboren und erhielt seine Ausbildung in seiner Heimatstadt und an der Universität Cambridge. Nach einer Saison beim London Opera Centre begann er seine Laufbahn als Korrepetitor am Nationaltheater Mannheim und assistierte regelmäßig bei den Bayreuther Festspielen. Erste Gastdirigate führten ihn zu zahlreichen Orchestern und Opernhäusern in Deutschland. 1988 debütierte Runnicles an der Metropolitan Opera New York, als er bei Alban Bergs Lulu für den kurzfristig erkrankten James Levine einsprang. 1989 wurde er zum Generalmusikdirektor des Theater Freiburgs berufen, das er drei erfolgreiche Spielzeiten lang leitete.

1990 folgte der Ruf an die Spitze der San Francisco Opera ab dem Jahr 1992, nachdem Donald Runnicles dort zwei Zyklen des Rings des Nibelungen geleitet hatte. Seitdem hat Runnicles Einladungen führender Opernhäusern, Festivals und Orchester wahrgenommen und u.a. in Bayreuth, Salzburg, Glyndebourne, Tanglewood und Ravinia dirigiert. Eine langjährige enge Zusammenarbeit verbindet ihn mit den wichtigsten Orchestern und Bühnen der Stadt Wien: So leitete er zahllose Konzerte der Wiener Philharmoniker und der Wiener Symphoniker. Unter seiner Stabführung entstanden Neuinszenierungen von Parsifal, Billy Budd und Die tote Stadt an der Wiener Staatsoper, Der feurige Engel und Lady Macbeth von Mzensk an der Volksoper sowie zuletzt die vielgerühmte Premiere von Brittens Death in Venice am Theater an der Wien.

Donald Runnicles‘ umfangreiche Diskographie umfasst u.a. Gesamtaufnahmen von Tristan und Isolde, Mozarts Requiem, Carmina Burana, Beethovens 9. Symphonie, Billy Budd, Hänsel und Gretel und I Capuleti ed i Montecchi. Seine Einspielung von Wagner-Arien mit Jonas Kaufmann und dem Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin gewann 2013 den Gramophone-Preis in der Kategorie „Best Vocal Recording“; seine DVD- Aufnahme von Janáčeks Jenůfa mit dem Chor und Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin wurde 2015 für einen GRAMMY Award als beste Opernaufnahme des Jahres nominiert.

Donald Runnicles ist Träger des Order of the British Empire (OBE) und Ehrendoktor der University of Edinburgh, der Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, und des San Francisco Conservatory of Music. Jüngst wurde er mit der Royal Medal der Royal Society of Edinburgh ausgezeichnet.

AUFNAHMEN

About

The man and the music

Conductor Donald Runnicles is the General Music Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin and Music Director of the Grand Teton Music Festival (Jackson, Wyoming), as well as the Principal Guest Conductor of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. He was recently named Conductor Emeritus of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, having served as its Chief Conductor from 2009-2016. Maestro Runnicles enjoys close and enduring relationships with several of the most significant opera companies and orchestras, and is especially celebrated for his interpretations of Romantic and post-Romantic symphonic and opera repertoire which are core to his musical identity.

As General Music Director of Deutsche Oper since 2009, Mr. Runnicles has primary responsibility for the musical forces of this historic company which produces each season an average of twenty-five productions and more than two hundred performances. In the 2017-18 season, Maestro Runnicles is leading the complete “Ring” cycle at the San Francisco Opera, and returns to the Metropolitan Opera to conduct Hansel and Gretel. He guest conducts the Philadelphia Orchestra, Dallas Symphony, National Symphony Orchestra, and the Toronto Symphony. In Europe and elsewhere, he returns to the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Staatskapelle Dresden, BBC Scottish Symphony, and Sydney Symphony. Opera productions include the world premiere of Aribert Reimann’s L’Invisible and a new production of Die Fledermaus with the Deutsche Oper Berlin.

Quote: Washington Classical Review

In “Nuages,” Runnicles
kept the orchestral
colors shimmering in an
ultra-subtle mist.
Washington Classical Review

The man behind the music

Born and raised in Edinburgh, Mr. Runnicles literally returned home to take up post as Chief Conductor of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in September 2009. His final season as Chief Conductor culminated in a triumphant closing concert of the 2016 Edinburgh International Festival season with Schoenberg’s Gurrelieder. Through its BBC Radio 3 broadcasts, commercially released recordings on the Hyperion label, and acclaimed concerts at home and on tour at the BBC Proms and throughout the UK, the BBC SSO/Runnicles has become one of the best known and most successful orchestra/conductor partnerships in the United Kingdom.

His Atlanta Symphony association began with a 1999 guest engagement and quickly matured into an abiding musical relationship of ever-increasing depth and accomplishment. The ASO named him Principal Guest Conductor in 2001 at the same time as the appointment of current ASO Music Director Robert Spano. Together, they have shaped an era for the ASO defined by a rare symbiotic partnership and musical growth that the ASO has not seen since the time of Robert Shaw. He spends three weeks each season in Atlanta, and after over a dozen years of making music together, has explored all corners of symphonic and choral repertory.

Mr. Runnicles has been Music Director since 2005 of the Grand Teton Music Festival, which draws its musicians from many of North America’s top orchestras to the natural beauty of the Grand Tetons in Jackson Hole, Wyoming. He leads four of the festival’s seven orchestra weeks, and directs and participates as pianist in the many chamber concerts, recitals and other activities the festival offers to its local public and visitors who flock to Jackson and nearby Yellowstone Park in the summer.

Beyond his annual commitments, Mr. Runnicles is active in symphonic repertoire and guest conducts some of the world’s finest symphony orchestras. Though fully engaged with four titled positions, he finds time to maintain regular guest relationships with the Berlin Philharmonic, London Symphony Orchestra, and the Philadelphia Orchestra, with whom he took on their 40th anniversary tour to China in June 2013.

For seventeen seasons Mr. Runnicles was Music Director of the San Francisco Opera (1992-2008). During his tenure, he led more than sixty productions including the world premieres of John Adams’s Dr. Atomic and Conrad Sousa’s Les Liaisons dangereuses, as well as the U.S. premieres of Olivier Messiaen’s Saint François d’Assise and Aribert Reimann’s Lear. At the close of his tenure, he was awarded the San Francisco Opera Medal, the company’s highest honor, previously given to luminaries such as Leontyne Price, Marilyn Horne, Plácido Domingo and Sir Charles Mackerras. Prior to the 2017-18 season, Mr. Runnicles had returned to the SFO in June 2015 to lead a new production of Berlioz’s Les Troyens.

Quote: The Guardian

The unforgettable performances (…)
marked one of Scotland’s proudest periods in orchestra history.
The Guardian

The early years

Mr. Runnicles was born in Edinburgh and was educated there and at Cambridge. Following a season with the London Opera Centre, he began his career in Mannheim, Germany as a répétiteur, and spent summers assisting in Bayreuth to further immerse his Wagnerian disposition. He spent those early years guest conducting throughout the German repertory theaters and orchestras. In 1988, he made his North American debut conducting Berg’s Lulu at the Metropolitan Opera, jumping in for an indisposed James Levine. In 1989 he became General Music Director in Freiburg, Germany where he remained for three seasons.

In 1990, after two Ring cycles at San Francisco Opera, he was asked to be its Music Director, and began the appointment two years later. Since then, he has conducted at leading international opera houses, orchestras, and summer festivals including Bayreuth, Salzburg, Glyndebourne, Tanglewood and Ravinia. Long associated with the city of Vienna, Mr. Runnicles has conducted many titles and performances for the city’s famed theaters and orchestras, including Wiener Philharmoniker, Wiener Symphoniker, new productions of Parsifal, Billy Budd and Die Tote Stadt at the Wiener Staatsoper, Vienna premieres of The Fiery Angel and Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk at the Volksoper, and most recently a new and acclaimed Vienna premiere of Benjamin Britten’s Death in Venice at the Theater-an-der-Wien.

Mr. Runnicles’ extensive discography includes complete recordings of Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde, Mozart’s Requiem, Orff’s Carmina Burana, Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, Britten’s Billy Budd, Humperdinck’s Hansel and Gretel, and Bellini’s I Capuleti e i Montecchi. His recording of Wagner arias with tenor Jonas Kaufmann and the Orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin won the 2013 Gramophone prize for Best Vocal Recording, and his recording of Janáček’s Jenůfa with the Orchestra and Chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin was nominated for a 2015 GRAMMY award for Best Opera Recording.

Donald Runnicles is a recipient of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) and holds honorary degrees from the University of Edinburgh, Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, and San Francisco Conservatory of Music.

SHOW DISCOGRAPHY