Top Menu

Deutsche Oper Berlin

My journey in opera has spanned three continents and it is with enormous pride that I have taken on the duties as Music Director of this incredibly storied and distinguished Opera House.

Indeed, since my professional life began in Germany thirty years ago in a theater not unlike  the Deutsche Oper Berlin -the National Theater Mannheim, a company which then boasted a repertoire of over 50 operas -it is a very real feeling of “coming home” to Berlin.

Life in Europe ‘s Hauptstadt is exciting and diverse. Life as a family in Berlin is rich and structured. Life at the helm of the Deutsche Oper is incredible – life where each and every season includes many of the major operas of Richard Wagner, Giuseppe Verdi and Richard Strauss, an opera house that boasts a great orchestra, a phenomenal chorus and a heady line up of young singers in the ensemble. I am a lucky man.

~ Donald Runnicles

Visit the Deutsche Oper Berlin Website
Members of the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra.

Members of the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra.

 

Der Fliegende Holländer
Deutsche Oper Berlin
7:30PM, Sunday, June 4, 2017
Der Fliegende Holländer
Deutsche Oper Berlin
7:30PM, Saturday, June 10, 2017
Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Deutsche Oper Berlin
8:00PM, Wednesday, June 28, 2017
Der Fliegende Holländer
Deutsche Oper Berlin
7:30PM, Friday, September 8, 2017
Lohengrin
Deutsche Oper Berlin
6:00PM, Sunday, September 10, 2017
Lohengrin
Deutsche Oper Berlin
6:00PM, Saturday, September 16, 2017
Musikfest Berlin: Die Walküre, Act III
Die Berliner Philharmonie
8:00PM, Monday, September 18, 2017
Der Fliegende Holländer
Deutsche Oper Berlin
7:30PM, Friday, September 22, 2017
World Premiere: L'Invisible
Deutsche Oper Berlin
6:00PM, Sunday, October 8, 2017
World Premiere: L'Invisible
Deutsche Oper Berlin
7:30PM, Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Elektra
Deutsche Oper Berlin
8:00PM, Thursday, October 19, 2017
World Premiere: L'Invisible
Deutsche Oper Berlin
6:00PM, Sunday, October 22, 2017
World Premiere: L'Invisible
Deutsche Oper Berlin
7:30PM, Wednesday, October 25, 2017
Elektra
Deutsche Oper Berlin
8:00PM, Thursday, October 26, 2017
Der Fliegende Holländer
Deutsche Oper Berlin
7:30PM, Friday, October 27, 2017
Elektra
Deutsche Oper Berlin
8:00PM, Monday, October 30, 2017
World Premiere: L'Invisible
Deutsche Oper Berlin
6:00PM, Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Lohengrin
Deutsche Oper Berlin
6:00PM, Thursday, November 9, 2017
Lohengrin
Deutsche Oper Berlin
5:00PM, Sunday, November 12, 2017
Der Fliegende Holländer
Deutsche Oper Berlin
7:30PM, Saturday, November 18, 2017

Deutsche Oper Berlin Recordings

Navigation