Top Menu

Live Stream on BBC Radio 3 tonight: Runnicles and Kozhukhin

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.3 (c.37′)

Britten Sinfonia da Requiem (c.21′)
Shostakovich Symphony No.9 (c.27′)

Denis Kozhukhin piano
Donald Runnicles conductor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

“I need the sound of the trampling of steel-shod boots”, Shostakovich told the first performers of his Ninth Symphony – but this startlingly irreverent “pseudo-comedy” certainly wasn’t the victory march the Soviet authorities were expecting, any more than Britten’s passionately anti-war Sinfonia da Requiem was what its Imperial Japanese commissioners had ordered. This thought-provoking programme from Donald Runnicles opens in a different world: it took a composer of supreme confidence to write Rachmaninov’s sweeping Third Piano Concerto, and it takes a pianist of unparalleled gifts to make it soar. Anyone who heard Denis Kozhukhin’s acclaimed Prokofiev piano concerto cycle last season will have no concerns on that count.

Comments are closed.